On September 24th 1789, the Judiciary Act of 1789 was passed by Congress and signed by President George Washington. This established the Supreme Court of the United States. George Washington nominated John Jay to Chief Justice and associate justices John Rutledge, William Cushing, John Blair, Robert Harrison, and James Wilson. All six were confirmed by the U.S. Senate on the 26th of September. They were appointed to serve until retirement or until death. This is a fun fact from “On this day in history” by History.com

The Supreme Court has been a trending topic following the Death of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. She was the second women appointed to the Supreme Court and left a grand legacy. The Democrats and Republicans are now fighting on who should appoint the next Justice to the seat.

For More Info On The First Supreme Court Click Here to goto History.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *